My New Years Resolution…

Standard

It’s the New Year, 2012.  A marker of change and progress.  A time where many claim to implement a new lifestyle.  In the past, I have definitely been guilty of all the cliche New Years resolutions.  I wanted to lose weight, graduate, make money, and everything else that the next girl has claimed to be her latest goal, but I’ve thought hard about what I want this year and it’s really nothing new.  It’s what the world has been telling you to do, but you never really listen.

To be completely honest,  I don’t want to change or be a different person.  I like who I am and who I can grow into and my goal is to simply be the best me that I can be.  I don’t want to become an extreme humanitarian or be the next Tyra Banks because that’s not who I am.  I just want to be the best version of myself.  If that means waking up a little earlier to get things done or going a little out of my way for the people I love, then that’s what I’ll do.  If I have to study a little harder or remind myself of all the great things I do have going on for me, then I’m going to find the will to do so.

I want to be more productive, optimistic, and not let anything I have go to waste.  This includes my life, my jobs, my education, my family, and even something as simple as the paper in my notebook.  It’s not going to be easy, but I have too many  goals in my mind to not use everything that I have within me.  If it took me 19 years of my life to figure this out, then I have a lot of time to make up for.

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

