Find Your Light

Standard

When you lose someone that you love, you can’t help but wonder what life would be like if they were still here.  I know I’ve done that plenty of times and I still find myself doing it after so many years.  One day I was thinking about the past and how things used to be.  I was sad and I wanted to go back to those earlier years so bad.  I swore that life was better back then.  Maybe it was better, but I know that the people I was thinking about wouldn’t want me to see it that way.

Right now as I think about those who have left me, I can only be grateful for having something to remember.  I am glad that I had whatever amount of time with them before they passed on.  I find it much easier to cope with their absence by keeping in mind the happy moments we spent together.  The fact that I lived in their lifetime makes a world of difference to me.

I know that if they could speak to me right now, they would tell me that they love me and how proud they are of me.  They would reassure me that they are still with me and that my life has so many great things lined up for me.  All of our lives do.  We all have so much potential in life that it wouldn’t be fair to forget about it.  There will always be some bad moments, but there will surely be some good ones to help you move on.  In times of darkness, we have to remember that we can create light in our lives, if that’s what we want.  There will be times where you think you can’t go on anymore, but that’s when you have to think about the real strength inside of you because you can keep going.  We always can.

For those of you who are going through difficult times or have experienced some of the worst moments in your life, I hope that you can find the strength within you.  I hope that you can create whatever light you need to guide you to happiness.  Hold on to whatever positive memories and dreams you have because that will be what saves you from being stuck in the dark forever.  I wish you all the best in the world.

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

