Care About Fashion to Care About Yourself!

Standard

Everybody cares about fashion in one form or another.  We all have different reasons to care and different ways of showing it.  We even have various levels of how much we care.  It really all depends on the individual person, but just know that everybody cares about fashion.

Some people show their love for fashion with no remorse.  This is the group where you can find fashion designers, fashion critics, couture models, stylists, and common fashion addicts.  They will look into every detail of a look, take on an outfit with an immeasurable amount of passion, and you will never find them in mismatched attire.  Even a short walk to the coffee shop is an opportunity to display their fabulous taste.

A select few people even have their own style.  Although many times the alternative look doesn’t appeal to the general public, in some odd way the unique choices tend to work… not all the time, but definitely sometimes.  These are the people who will wear whatever matches their personality and makes them happy.

There are also some people who are unsure as to how to be a part of the fashion world.  I’ll admit this is a tricky category.  Some people appear to look careless and won’t admit that they actually put thought into their outfit, but the truth is they did.  Sometimes the pieces just don’t come together as these individuals had hoped or perhaps comfort was their inspiration.  Point is they thought about their clothes before throwing it on.

Growing up, I did not care about fashion and simply put on whatever my mom picked out for me.  My biggest input into my look was picking out a Backstreet Boys T-Shirt, but I guess, that’s no different from most people’s experiences.  I mean how many decisions do kids that age really make anyways?

However, as I moved into my later years of elementary school and earlier years of middle school, fashion became extremely important to me.  So important that my greatest aspiration was to become a fashion designer.  I began to educate myself in fashion and to experiment with my style.  Naturally, some outfits didn’t look so great, but it was a learning process and mistakes are bound to come up… right?  Either way, I soon learned what worked and what didn’t work with my curves, or at least I figure out what I liked on me.  It took me some time (high school to be exact), but I was eventually able to establish a style that I was happy with and was fashionable at the same time.

Today, although my dreams of becoming a fashion designer have disappeared (for the most part), I still love fashion and I can’t help it.  I mean, I think it should be important to anyone who values themselves because a person’s style is truly a direct reflection of who you are and how you think.  The decisions you make reflect your character and styling yourself entails a lot of decision-making.  For example, when I was younger and took my mother’s fashion advice, it showed my dependence on her, but now that I have my own taste, my unique qualities and independence are much more evident.

To relate this back to all of you reading this, I feel like the more a person cares about what they wear the more they care about themselves.  If a person dresses well or at least to their content, then I think that shows that a person is content with their life and determined to continue being happy in the future.  It lets people know hey, I value myself enough to take time out of my day and to think about what I look like.

On the other hand, a person who wears the first thing they see comes off as careless, sloppy, and unorganized with a lack of motivation.  If a person doesn’t care to pick out an outfit and present themselves well, then what do they care about?  The fact is that first impressions are very important and these first impressions are heavily influenced by fashion.  It doesn’t matter what you want to believe, but appearance matters.  It matters so much that jobs, social standing, and your own success may depend on it.

At this point in my life, I am too goal oriented to not care about every decision I make with fashion being up there.  I am in college with three jobs and am young to begin with.  If my first impressions are not so good, then how can I expect others to believe in me as much as I do?  I don’t need any excuses for people to think that I am not mature or qualified enough to invest their time in me.  If I show up to an art event with my brother, how will people receive me if they see me in dirty jeans and a hoodie three sizes too big?  Do you think it’s acceptable to meet with my boss in a tube top and a mini skirt?

What I’m trying to say is that I value myself enough to think about the message I am sending others with my appearance and I think that you should too.  I am not saying that everyone has to be a fashionista, but I am saying to respect yourself enough to market yourself correctly.  You do not have to only wear Pucci and Chanel to be fashionable.  If you want to wear sweats, by all means do so, but put your own tasteful twist on it.  Wear some nice shoes or heels with it or maybe dress it up with some vibrant earrings.  Just make it your own and be presentable.  Don’t be sloppy and tailor your style to what the situation calls for.  Remember fashion is anything you want it to be, so show us what you’re worth.

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

