Q.E.P.D. Abuelo Tongo

Standard

Last night at about 1:30am my family received the news that my grandfather had passed away.  A couple of weeks ago, I wrote about his situation and how much I hoped that things would get better.  Unfortunately, his body couldn’t wait any longer and it was his time to go.  I am grateful for the time I had with him and for the time my mother had with him.  We learned so much from him in so little time and I am proud to be a Ramirez.  Because of him, we have a beautiful, big family that supports us and that will never change.  Thank you to all of our friends and family for their love during this very difficult time!  Your phone calls, text messages, and statuses on Facebook are much appreciated.  I know that he is in a better place now with his mother, Abuela Mariana, and his son, my beloved Tio Mickey, where he can watch over all of us and feel no pain.  Thank you again to everyone who has reached out to us.  It truly means a lot.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

2 responses »

  1. I love you, Tana! I’m sorry for your loss. Take comfort in the time you had with your abuelo, and know that he is with God now, pain free, and with loved ones. Although you no longer are able to speak with him, don’t stop talking to him. He is watching over you now and will always be a part of you. ❤

Leave a Reply

