Happy Birthday Mami!

Standard

It’s been 45 years… oops I mean 39 years… since the world was blessed with my mom.  Throughout her whole life, she has always been extremely hard-working and loving.  She is one of the strongest people I know and I admire her so much.  My mother is an amazing woman who probably feels too much, but always means well.  Anyone who has met her knows what a kind heart she has and how goofy she can be.  She lives her life by pleasing others and is often forced to do things for herself.  I am so proud of her for being such a great person, employee, and student (yup, my mom even took the initiative to go back to college!) and I know that everyone else who knows her is, too.

I don’t know what I would do without my mami.  She was a teen mom, but my mother beat the odds and has been able to raise three children into strong, independent young adults.  She has always been there for me and my siblings no matter what.  There have been times where she’s had to wake up every hour or so because I was sick or has simply put up with however many times I’ve seen the same episodes of That 70’s Show.  The point is that I love my mother and she is absolutely irreplaceable.  I want her to be happy because she deserves only the best, which is why I hope that she gets to have one of the best birthdays she’s ever had.  Today, while everyone else will be entranced by the Super Bowl, I’ll be celebrating my mom’s birthday with my family.  I love you mami and happy birthday!

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

