Do What You Love

Standard

There’s an old saying that says something along the lines of do what you love and you’ll never work a day in your life and I must say that I completely agree.  Of course, life isn’t easy and things won’t be handed to you.  It’s necessary to earn what you want with hard work, but if you love your career, then it can’t really be considered work.  Right?  I mean work is labor.  It’s everything that you don’t want to do.  It is a forced responsibility.  However, if your work is centered around your passion, then every minute you work will really be a minute dedicated to fulfilling yourself.

Right now, I have three jobs, but I can honestly say that I don’t feel like I work three jobs.  Yes, I do a lot and, yes, it gets stressful, but, a lot of the time, I feel like I’m spending time with friends and family.  In the future, I want to have a writing career.  I don’t feel like I’m working when I write.  I absolutely feel productive, but, when I’m done with a piece, I feel more proud and happy than anything.

During my first semester of college, I had no idea what I wanted to do.  I was undeclared.  But, after some time, I really thought about what I would love to do for the rest of my life and that thing was writing.  Even though I haven’t officially embarked on my career as a writer, I know that there is nothing else that I would rather work toward for myself.  My best advice to you is if you don’t love what your goal is, then why do it?  No amount of money can compensate for the void that you’ll feel when you commit your life to a job.  Dedicate your studies to a career that you love.

Simply, do what you love.

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

