Grammy Red Carpet Hits

Standard

Last night, CBS brought us the 54th Annual Grammy Awards, so you know what that means… the biggest celebs in the industry dressed to impress on the red carpet.  I will say that many of the stars had fun with the occasion and took this opportunity to take plenty of fashion risks.  Let’s just say that Fergie, Lady Gaga, and Nicki Minaj went for the more outlandish approach.  They may not have been my favorites, but I definitely appreciate the concepts and efforts behind each look.

On the other hand, I thought that Jessie J and Taylor Swift sparkled perfectly on the red carpet.  I would even go so far to say that they had my two favorite dresses.  Jessie J’s slim silver gown was form fitting and edgy, while still holding on to classic glamour.  As for country music’s princess, there’s really no way you can’t appreciate the intense details in Taylor Swift’s dress, but the monochromatic essence to the gold gown kept it subtle enough to not drown her out.

There was nothing safe about Corinne Bailey Rae’s and Rihanna’s black dresses, but the risks paid off in my eyes.  Corinne’s dress was bold with a very full hem that worked for her personality (You can’t expect anything less from Christian Siriano).  Rihanna definitely had a few heads turning with her plunging neckline, open back, and front slit, but, somehow, there wasn’t too much skin showing (I guess that’s how Armani works).

Kathy Griffin and Paris Hilton had shockingly nice gowns keeping themselves in light neutral tones with sleek silhouettes, which I personally liked, while Kate Beckinsale continued with the neutral vibe and conveyed an effortless essence, but still showing off her beautiful figure.  Carrie Underwood, Kelly Rowland, Adele, and red carpet correspondents Giuliana Rancic and Kelly Osbourne were all some honorable mentions in my book.  I loved Katy Perry’s dress, but my only complaint was how they styled her hair.  I liked the blue color, but was no fan of the slicked back styling.  Lastly, I couldn’t leave out Miss Sophia Grace and little Rosie.  I mean, honestly, who doesn’t love them?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

