Happy Birthday Nicole!

Standard

We met in our sixth grade Language Arts class with Mrs. Osbourne.  To her, I was Indian and, to me, she was the girl with a lot of purses.  I’m not sure when or how it happened, but some time between then and now we became best friends.  We’ve helped each other through tears, we’ve calmed each other away from nerves or anger, and we’ve brought each other so many moments of laughter.

It’s been about eight years since that first day in Mrs. Osbourne’s class at MacArthur middle school and it’s finally time for Nicole to stop being a teenager and become 20!  She has been a wonderful addition to my life and, frankly, I think I’m stuck with her, so I want to take today, her birthday, to celebrate all that she has accomplished in the past 20 years.  I also want to celebrate what she will accomplish.  She has so much potential and a truly kind heart.  She is an amazing friend and I wish her only the best.  I can’t wait to see the great things that she’ll do.

Nicole,

Thank you for being such a good friend to me throughout these past years.  It means so much to me.  I hope you have an awesome birthday and that you enjoy it with the people you love most.  Know that I wish you the absolute best and that I am always here for you.  You better live this birthday up because you’ll only be 20 for a year and then it will never happen again.  Live your life to the fullest because you deserve it. 

Love you and happy birthday!

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

