A Break From Tuesday

Standard

As you know, my life is jam-packed with 18 credits at school, three jobs, and life in general.  To give you an idea of what I have to go through here’s a glimpse of my typical Tuesday.

I wake up at 7am so that I can leave my house by 7:50am to make it to my 8:30am class.  From there, I have three classes with only two fifteen minute breaks.  They’re not really breaks, but more like an allotted time frame to get to my next class.  During my third class, I try to severely multitask by sending work emails and taking notes at the same time.  So far, it’s been working pretty well… thank God for laptops!  At 12:45pm, my class is over and I’m on my way back to my car.  I’m usually home by 1:20pm and now have a two-hour break.

I get something to eat, finish up whatever work I couldn’t get done in class, and do the reading for my night classes.  I might be able to sneak in some TV time, but that usually means that the TV’s just on while I work.  Nothing serious.  Before I know it, 3:50pm is here and I’m pushing myself back out the door.  Within forty minutes, I’m sitting in a half-lit classroom learning about American poets for the next two and a half hours of my day.  Very dry subject and no laptops allowed, so some writing is the only thing that keeps me from falling asleep at my desk.

Once my Polish professor dismisses us, I’m rushing to my next class that starts in ten minutes.  This class is more interesting (Biblical Literature and Other Arts), but my professor’s poor time management mixed with her extreme enthusiasm for the subject always keeps us in class for an extra five minutes.  Normally, five minutes isn’t a big deal, but when it’s 9:45pm and you still need to drive home, five minutes can make or break you, but, alas, by 10:15am I am walking up the front steps to my house.

Finally a moment to relax… right?  Well, not quite.  I can usually take some twenty minutes to simply recharge my brain and then it’s time to get ready for tomorrow.  This entails doing my homework for tomorrow’s night class, packing my bag for work (including a lunch), and doing last-minute tasks that come to mind (like printing out forms or sending emails). On a good night, I’ll be in bed by midnight.

Is this healthy?  I’m not too sure about that.  A girl can use some time for a bit of classic rest and relaxation, but, honestly, there are many times where I’m not sure how to do that between so much.  At least this past weekend was a good break from my everyday responsibilities.  I spent some good quality time with my mom and brother, while I also got to celebrate my best friend’s birthday.  I had a great time with old friends and new friends alike.  President’s Day gifted me an off day from work and being that I don’t have class on Mondays, I had a chance to take things slow.  Hopefully, I can find a way to relax a bit throughout the week.  It would be much appreciated on days like my Tuesdays.

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

