Life is Good

Standard

Life is a beautiful thing and it should never be taken for granted.  Things can change drastically so fast that you don’t even realize what happened, so you have to be willing to absorb every second of your life before it’s gone.  Sure, bad things happen, but don’t bad things happen to everyone?  The key to getting through an unfortunate situation is to continue to move forward, no matter what.  I’m a firm believer in the idea that you never encounter something you cannot overcome.  It is just a matter of how willing you are to keep going.

We all have something to complain about, something that has set us back, but what differentiates the weak from the strong is if you continue to complain, rather than try to leave nothing for you to complain about.  I, for example, can say that I got into a pretty bad accident (which I did).  My car got totaled, I was out of school and work for almost two weeks, and I had an overall bad experience.  That’s something to be upset about, something to complain about, but thanks to that accident I got a newer car, I got a little break from my crazy schedule, and I got to appreciate what I do have.

I could easily complain about so many things, but I really try not to because what is complaining going to get you?  Believe me, I have my moments of weakness where I can complain more than you can imagine, but I definitely do try to keep in mind the good things I have going for me.  I have family and friends that love me.  I get to go to school with no debt.  I am employed with a steady income.  I am myself.

I may have a busy schedule, like three midterms and two papers due in one week, but life pulls through when you need it to.  Turns out, two of my classes got cancelled during my busiest week.  My friend went through a pretty rough time recently, but at the end of it all, she gained so much more strength in herself (plus some new friends) that she couldn’t possibly regret what happened.  Who can be upset that something not so great happened, if they gained something so much better?

Life isn’t perfect (I would like to meet the person who has a flawless one), so it definitely has its ups and downs, but without the bad times you can never truly appreciate the good times.  You need a cold, rainy day to love that warm, sunny one.  So take the not-your-best-days in stride and learn from them.  Trust me, you will live through it, you will grow from it, and everything else will seem so much brighter.

Things happen for a reason and always remember that life is good, when you’re good to it.

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

