A Day of Rest

Standard

3 papers, 3 mid-terms, and 1 presentation later my spring break has arrived.  The past week has definitely been a test of endurance, intelligence, and time management.  It has been a week that many of my college peers can relate to.  Late nights full of studying, using every spare minute to review, and a sore hand after an hour of writing non-stop.  It’s college life during mid-terms.  It’s a horrible week.  It’s a stressful time, but it also means the semester is half-way over.  It means that progress is at work.  But, thankfully, this dreadful week is immediately followed by spring break, the pick me up that so many hardworking students have justly earned.

Today, I don’t have work and I don’t have class.  I don’t have any assignments due tomorrow and I don’t have anywhere to be.  This is my day of rest.  We all have them.  We all need them.  Those days where you wake up whenever you want and you just lounge around the house in your pajamas.  Maybe, you’ll watch a movie or just hang out with some friends.  The point is that you don’t have to worry.

On my day of rest, I’m not going to worry about responsibilities or deadlines. Instead, I’m going to relax and simply enjoy myself.  After all of the hours I’ve put in recently, I think it’s time I treat myself to a proper lazy day.  A day that is dedicated to relieving all of my stress and making sure that I’m ready to take on this second half of the semester.  Like I said before, we all need these lazy days.

So, to all of my sleep deprived students and around the clock workers, reward yourself with a day to breathe.  You don’t want to burn yourself out too soon and, if you don’t recharge soon, your productivity will become a sloppy mess.  Do yourself a favor and just take a break.

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

