Two Sisters & A Brother… A Love Like No Other

Standard

As you may or may not know, April 10 was National Siblings Day, which is meant to be a day dedicated to the celebration of siblings all over the U.S.  Although I am a few days late on this (who can blame me for not remembering one of those unknown holidays like National Siblings Day?), I still wanted to recognize my own siblings.

I am the youngest of three children.  My sister is the oldest and six years my senior.  My brother is the middle child and, interestingly enough, is also three years apart from myself and my sister.  Growing up, we weren’t always around our extended family, so we had A LOT of time to get to know each other.  I have fond memories of playing hide the thing and “ice skating” inside our house.  I have some not so fond memories of being hit in the eye with a home-made paper ninja star and getting into plenty of fights.  Either way I have my sister and my brother to thank for that.

My sister and I are like any other pair of sisters.  We share things and fight over things.  We can be best friends and we can be lethal enemies.  But, at the end of the day, only I can translate what she’s trying to say and grasp her attention when I know she’s not paying attention.  (Inserting her favorite celebrity’s name usually does the trick.)  She’s my sister and I love her to death no matter how many headaches we’ve given each other.  Who can’t hold a special place in their heart for the person who went to your first concert with you or who taught you how to shave your legs.  I’ll never have another big sister and she’ll never have another little sister.  It’s because of her that I’m MSauciana after all.

Then there’s my brother.  He’s the boy who I believe is my twin, but was born three years too soon.  He knows how to make me laugh and give good advice.  He has pretty much always been there for me and I know that his support will only continue.  He is creative and slightly crazy.  Let’s not forget that he is a boy.  When we were kids, he played too rough and now that we’re older he definitely hands out a lot of tough love.  (One time I even tried to profess my hate towards him after a fight, but some misspelling led to me writing “I hat you” on the Pokemon poster hanging on his door.)  Waking him up, a task only I can accomplish, takes a good amount of patience and keeping up with his always moving brain requires paying close attention.  There are times where we don’t see eye to eye, but it happens.  He’s my brother and the only one I have.

No matter how annoyed I get, how mad I am, or how frustrated I may be, she is my sister and he is my brother.  I’ll always be there for them when they need me and I’ll always love them.  I know that I can always count on them and I feel very blessed (most of the time) to have them in my family.  I love creating more memories with them whether it’s at a baseball game or playing Cranium at home.  Someday it will be our kids that our making memories together, with their siblings and with their cousins, but that day won’t be here any time soon.  So for now I just want to say, I love Vany and Junior so much… forever and always!

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

