April Staple Item: The Maxi Dress

Standard

I’ll be the first one to admit it… It took me a very long time to embrace the maxi dress, but it has finally grown on me.  Three months ago, you wouldn’t have caught me dead wearing a maxi dress or advising anyone to get one, but today I am telling a very different story.  I was out shopping a little while ago and, at last, I let go of some of my stubbornness and I tried on a maxi dress (two actually).  I put them on and I loved them.  It was hard having to only pick one and I remember switching back and forth between the two for a few minutes.  Now, here I am writing to you all about the beauty of a maxi dress.  After having owned one now (I’m a bit ashamed of that and I’m currently looking forward to buying a few more), I must tell you that they are so worth having.

The maxi dress is comfortable, stylish, and so simple for anybody to wear.  If it’s a little chilly out, throw on your maxi dress, some sandals, and a leather jacket, and you’re good to go.  If it really feels like Spring, then just let the maxi dress speak for itself with no cardigans, jackets, or cover ups.  The maxi dress just seems like the perfect combination between a light option for warm days and a more sensible one for breezy days.  You almost don’t even have to think about your outfit when you wear a maxi dress, but, if you like to plan it all out, of course you can.  With this floor length dress, you can wear a belt or a scarf, a jacket or wear it solo, load up on jewelry or keep it simple.  The possibilities are endless.

My suggestion is to have at least two to three maxi dresses in your wardrobe this Spring (I know I’m still working on my stock).  Keep one dress simple and classic.  One that you can dress up, dress down, and completely transform to match your mood.  This is the one you want to accessorize.  Your second dress can be patterned and bolder.  Maybe it can have a funky print or be striped from head to toe.  If you want to go for more dresses, then there are no limits as to what kind of dress you should get… just make sure you love it!  However, for my petite or curvy frames, keep the patterns you choose as elongating as possible.  In other words, don’t buy a maxi dress with horizontal stripes.  Vertical or nothing… trust me you’ll thank me later.

So there it is people.  I have caved to the allure of the maxi dress and I openly invite you all to join me!

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

