Congrats Jess!

Standard

For the past year, I have had the pleasure of getting to know my dear co-worker and friend, Jessica.  She was the first person I met when I came to work with USHYEE and it is thanks to her that I have grown so much as a person.  If you ever get the chance of meeting her, then your life will change.  She is so inspirational and the best part is that she doesn’t even try to be.  Jessica simply lives her life in the way that she believes life should be lived.  She is self-less, intelligent, generous, absolutely hilarious, and hardworking, so it doesn’t surprise me that she has accomplished so much at such a young age.  Yesterday, Jess graduated from UMBC and we all couldn’t be more proud of her.  During her time in the U.S., Jess persevered against so many obstacles and I have never heard her complain about the hardships she’s been through.  I know plenty of people who moved to the U.S., not knowing English, and were unable to make it to college or even past high school, but she did… and I know Jess is not stopping here.

Although I haven’t known her for too long, I feel like I have found a life-long friend in her.  I am so grateful to have met her and I am going to miss her so much when she moves to California.  I am so proud of her and I just want to congratulate her on everything that she has done so far.  I am excited to see what the future holds for her because I know they can only be great things.

Love you Jess and thanks for everything!

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

One response »

Leave a Reply

