Happy Memorial Day!

Standard

Although many of us are probably enjoying our day off from school and work, let’s also not forget why today is a U.S. federal holiday.  Today is meant to be a day where we honor our fallen soldiers and those who have contributed to the protection of this country.  You may not be in favor of war or you may have never met a member of the military in your life before, but I think we can all respect what the military has done and continues to do for us.

Unless you’ve experienced a military lifestyle, you will never full understand the sacrifices that are made in your name; however, you can certainly still appreciate them.  Deployment, the constant moving, the first few years of being a low rank are all hardships that are endured to serve this country and I don’t want them to go unnoticed.  Since I grew up as an Army brat, I know what military life is like and I know how hard it can be.  My father was in the Army for the first 12 years of my life.  I have relatives and friends who are still in serving in the Armed Forces.  My great-grandfather and both of my grandfathers were Army soldiers, so it’s easy for me to appreciate the sacrifice that the military undergoes for all of us in the United States.

I hope everyone has a wonderful Memorial Day, but I also hope everyone remembers what today means.  Always honor your military because they do it all for you.

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

