SYTYCD Will Not Disappoint

Standard

After so many years of phenomenal dancing and touching stories, you might worry that SYTYCD ran out of its mojo, but last week’s season 9 premiere did away with those doubts for sure.  Throughout the entire episode, I couldn’t help but profess my love for the show as my mom wiped tears from her eyes.  I’ll admit I cried a little bit, too, but honestly how could you not?  I mean the dancing is at its highest level and the stories just scream tear-jerker.  For someone who has always loved dance, like myself, then there is no way around being moved. disappoint

Leo Reyes from the New York City auditions was utter perfection in my eyes.  His background story about the hardships he went through with his mother got both my mom and myself emotional.  Plus, his solo to Drake’s “Look What You’ve Done” captured his technique, his emotion, and his narrative at the same time effortlessly.  That is a dancer I can respect and he is already one of my favorites.  Then there was little Stella from the Dallas auditions.  Her mom, Bree Hafen, danced a beautiful contemporary routine, but Stella stole the show in her bright pink tutu.  After Bree’s audition, Stella took the stage to show off her skills, which were simply impressive for a two-year old little girl.  I can only pray that I will have a little ballerina like her for myself one day.  Dallas also had the pleasure of introducing the exorcist style of dance to the world.  Created by Hampton Williams, the style of dance is more like a spiritual cleansing than a creepy gimmick.  At first, my mom was a little freaked out by the term exorcist (thank a bad experience with The Exorcist movie from her childhood), but, by the end of his solo, she had tears coming down her face out of how moving his performance was.  Naturally, all three of them got sent straight to Vegas.

There were plenty of other great solos and stories, as well as not so great ones, but these were my absolute favorites, so I had to highlight them.  Tonight the auditions continue and I can’t wait to see the dancers from this bunch, but, for now, enjoy these videos of my favorites!

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

