Happy Father’s Day Papi!

Standard

What can I say about my dad?  He is certainly not perfect, but which dad is?  He is my only papa-roo and I wouldn’t change him for the world.  He’s there when I need him, no matter what, and he’s throw in plenty of surprises full of little adventures and priceless moments.  I absolutely love that about him, but I also can’t help but admire his many different talents!  He’s a dad, a financial advisor, a mechanic, a tech crew, a DJ, an improv comic, and even a chef.  The best part is that he does them all so well.  Sometimes he may not know how to voice what he’s feeling and he may not like to get emotional, but he always makes sure to let us know that he cares.  He always says “I love you” before hanging up the phone and he always makes sure we’re ok.  At the end of the day, I always feel the love from him.  I may not see him everyday, but I always know that he’s there if I need him.  When I got into my car accident, he left work to pick me up and he handled everything.  When my uncle and grandfathers passed away, he was there for me, my siblings, and my mom with no questions asked.  My dad is a special breed, but it all adds up to him being a great papi.  I love him so much and he knows that.  I appreciate everything he’s done for me and I am so grateful to have him in my life.  So with all that being said I just want to wish my papi a very Happy Father’s Day!  Love you Pa!

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

