Happy Birthday Mami Becky!

Standard

If I was not born to my mother, then I would have definitely been the child of my Titi Becky.  I grew up far away from her, only seeing her in pictures and hearing of her through stories, but that all changed the summer I turned 12.  That summer my aunt lived with us and it was the start of an unbreakable bond.  We played games, watched movies, cooked, and created priceless memories.  From that point on, she became my second mother and I became her daughter.  This woman has done so much for me that I can’t imagine my life without her.  She flew out to Puerto Rico to do the toast for my quinceañero.  She came to Maryland for my high school graduation.  She has made sure that I get to see our Peanut grow up, but mostly she has proven to me that she will always be there for me.

I am so proud to say that I am her niece and I am even more proud to say that I see her as a second mother.  I can’t tell you how many times people say that her and I are so alike and it makes me so happy to hear that.  We have the same personality, the same loud laugh, and the same strong heart.  My aunt has gone through a lot in her life, but she has never characterized herself as the victim.  Instead, she uses the challenges she’s faced to make herself stronger and to continue life in a better way.  I am so proud of her for that and I admire her so much.  Believe me when I say that my “mommy” is one of the best people you can have to look up to and I am so lucky to have her in my life.

Mami Becky,

I want to wish you a very happy birthday porque te lo mereces. You have proven to be an incredible woman who any girl can look up to. Your honesty, humor, strength, and pure love are things that everybody wants, but not everyone can have. Por eso, tienes tantas bendiciones como Mike, quien te quiere tanto, y eso hijito tan bello. Trust me when I say that this is only the beginning of the many great things to come into your life. Gracias por todo lo que haz hecho por mí y por lo que sigues haciendo por mí. De verdad, significas el mundo para mí y cada cosita que haces me llega al corazón. I’m so glad that I get to spend your birthday with you and I thank you for that. I love you so much y te deseo lo mejor del mundo. I hope you enjoy every minute of your birthday. I love you!

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

