Being A Little Sister

Standard

With being a little sister comes the responsibility of being the entertainment for your older siblings.  For my sister, I was a walking Barbie doll and, for my brother, I was a real life test dummy.  For both, I was a great subject for jokes and funny stories.  I was the thing they loved to torment the most, but I was also the one thing of theirs that no one else could touch.  No boys or bullies were allowed near me and I was always in safe hands when I was with them.  Nearly 20 years after I became their little sister and not much has changed.  Sure, we have our fights and our harsh jokes are said, but there is still plenty of love and laugh filled moments.  They will always be my big sister and my big brother and I will always be their baby sister.  I love them both so much and nothing can change that!

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

