Happy Birthday Selena G!

Standard

A couple of years ago, I was bored at home and there was nothing good on TV, so I decided to give Disney’s Wizards of Waverly Place a shot.  I had never heard of it before, but I nothing to lose.  Before I knew it, I was watching more episodes and Alex, the sarcastic lead character, was making me crack up more than I could have ever anticipated.  Her character is the main reason why I fell in love with that show and that’s when I became a big supporter of Selena Gomez.

Eventually, I learned more about her and I still haven’t seen or heard anything to change my mind about her.  As far as I’m concerned, she is one of the few good role models in Hollywood for little girls.  She carries herself well, gives back to her community, and has made a career from her talent rather than a scandal.  Given the childhood she experienced, I have a lot of respect for Selena… not to mention the countless cool points she got for covering Nicki Minaj.

I may not be a ten year old girl rocking a WOWP shirt, but I still admire Selena for the positive image that she shows her audience.  For that reason, I had no shame in going to the Maryland State Festival specifically to see her perform live.  She was great in person and I definitely enjoyed myself.  I honestly applaud her for all of the great things that she is accomplishing at such a young age.  Today, Selena Gomez turns 20 and I think we are going to see a lot more of her in the years to come!

Leave a Reply

