Define Results

Standard

I like to think of myself as a person who likes to see results.  That’s a big part of what keeps me motivated in life.  In school, I work hard toward getting good grades.  When I get them, I want to continue that pattern, so I keep on working hard.  If I don’t do as well as I thought or if the information just isn’t sinking in, I lose interest fast.  That probably explains my complicated relationship with science.  At work, I like to see kids getting better and learning.  If they’re not registering what I’m telling them, I start to get frustrated and I don’t know what to do.  I like to see more Twitter followers for ROM and more likes on the ROM Facebook.  It reminds me that people are interested in the work that we do.  For my blog, I look at the followers and the views and the rest of the stats.  Sometimes I’m pleased, but sometimes I think things could be better.  Like I said, I like to see results, but, for a long time, I thought that the things I described are the only kind of results that exist.  I used to think that only hard results were the only ones that mattered, but, after giving it some thought, that’s not true at all.

When it comes to seeing results, the ones you literally see aren’t the only ones that count.  For example, if you change your lifestyle to become healthier, chances are you aren’t going to see those extra pounds just disappear overnight.  You’re more likely to feel the change within yourself before you even notice how loose your jeans have gotten.  I’ve recently tweaked my diet and schedule to become healthier.  Sure, I want to lose weight, but I’m mostly doing it so that I can live a healthier life.  In the past, I tried the shallow diets and intense work outs for fast results, but I would always give up within the first month; however, now, it seems to be lasting and it’s not because of the compliments people give me but because of how I feel.  I feel much better about myself after working out or not choosing to eat a burger, which makes me want to keep going.  The change I’ve noticed in my attitude, energy, and self-esteem are the results that motivate me to continue.

For my blog, I used to care about how many people viewed my posts and if I didn’t get a certain number each day, then I wouldn’t be content with my work.  I’ll admit, I still care who reads my blog, but not to just get another hit.  I care because I don’t want to let you all down.  If you took the time to click on my blog or to become a subscriber, I don’t want you to regret your decision.  I want you to feel like it was worth it.  I feel like my writing can help others and maybe that’s what will make your trip here worth it.  Maybe a poem I posted helps a reader express their own emotions or perhaps a post I’ve written helps someone be more optimistic.  What I post on here may even just make someone smile or give them a good idea.  All I know is that after I finish each post I feel much better.  I’m proud of my writing and I think I leave each post feeling a little more enlightened with how to live life better.

Personally, I’m learning to appreciate the not so visible results as opposed to the short-term ones.  Like I said before, I’ve recently been seeing a lot of positive changes within myself and everything that I’m doing in my life is a part of that.  Through school, I feel like I’m learning and preparing myself for something bigger.  That bigger being my career.  Through work, not only am I helping others, but I’m also helping myself become a better leader and more independent.  It makes me feel good to know that I’m a part of the beginnings of organizations and companies that are destined to be something great.  Through my personal endeavors, I’m learning about myself, I’m coaching myself to a better way of life, and, maybe I’m even doing the same for you.  We all have to learn to not stay hung up on a number or a letter.  It helps to look at what you have gained versus what you hoped you had gained.  Yes, always stay motivated to do better and never settle, but remember what matters.  Remember what will have a longer lasting effect on your life, which aren’t always the results you “see,” and focus on that.

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

