In a Perfect World…

Standard

You’d have the ability to do whatever you wanted, whenever you wanted, with whomever you wanted.  Personally, I have several great days in mind.  Some involve going out with friends, while others call for a relaxing day at home with the family.  However, one perfect day that I would like to indulge in is one that hasn’t happened yet.  I don’t know if it will happen exactly the way I want it to, but I would just love to get a little taste of it.

During my day, I would like no distractions.  Nobody is home.  They’re simply out for the day and they won’t be home till late.  I have no pending tasks that need to get done.  All of my work is finished, so there’s nothing to worry about.  My phone and TV are silent, letting my train of thought run freely.  Maybe there’s a thunderstorm or some sort of overcast.  Something that makes my secluded world much more intimate and real.  I just want a day where I’m alone with my writing.  The only thing I would focus my attention on are the unfinished stories on my laptop and the unwritten poems in my mind.  I would love to spend a whole day completely inspired and able to write.  You don’t know how many concepts I have written in short word documents or are anxiously awaiting to be scribbled down from my head to a sheet of paper.  I have several pieces that are, at the moment, nothing more than an outline and some notes.  Too many of my stories are looking forward to their final revisions, so that they can at last be categorized as finished.  I would like a day where I can change all of that.

Yes, I would like to have a day dedicated to writing.  One of my many perfect days is one where I can truly be a writer.

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

