The Ones You Can Always Count On

Standard

Your whole life you’re told that your family is your number one support system and that they are the only ones that will never leave you alone.  In my case, this is absolutely true.  20 years ago God gave me the best gift I could ever ask for and that is a place in the Figueroa-Ramirez clan.  I was given a brother, a sister, a father, and a mother, who all promised to take care of me and protect me in any way that they could just as I will do the same for them.  Throughout the years, we have argued, we have laughed, and our bond has been tested, but no matter what, we have never left each other’s side.  My father will do whatever he can to look out for myself, my siblings, and my mother.  My mom will always put her kids first, even if we ask her not to.  My sister will always play the role of big sister, being there whenever she’s needed.  My brother will forever hold the title of the protective big brother, prepared to fight in any battle.  But God has blessed me even more by allowing us to add another member to our family.  Though we don’t share the same blood and he’s not even an in-law yet, he has proven his commitment to this family through thick and thin, which I am forever grateful for.

Family is meant to be the group of people who you may not like all of the time, but you will always love.  They are the ones who will tell you the truth and give you advice with your best interest at heart.  They will never leave your side, especially when you have nothing to give back to them, but a simple thank you.  They shouldn’t do you favors to benefit them, but instead to lighten your burden.  They’ll keep your secrets, take on your pain, and will help solve your problems with you.  I feel blessed to say that my family is exactly like this.  I have recently learned that sometimes a bit of pride, but mostly being conscious that everybody has their own issues to deal with can get in the way of asking for help when you need it the most.  Why let others know of your struggle when they have their own worries and responsibilities?  Because they’re your family and if you can’t turn to them for help, who can you turn to?

Family may not always be blood or the traditional mother, father, and 2.5 kids make-up, but family is always the one group of people who will find the means to help each other, even when it seems impossible.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

