Happy Birthday Papi!

Standard

Today, my one and only awesome daddy turns forty-ughummsomething years old and I hope that he has the best birthday ever.  He’s gone through some tough times recently (you know with working full-time… and going to school full-time… and being a dad… and being a son), so I think he deserves a night out filled with each and every Pitbull song ever made and a pack of Coronas on deck.  He’s my father, my papi, my papa roach, my big daddy kane!  Yup, the one and only.  I only have one pops and I couldn’t ask for a better one.  Throughout the years, he’s proven that he will always be around and that he will do anything to make sure that me and my siblings are ok.  He’ll do whatever he can to make us laugh and he can actually admit when he’s wrong (eventually, at least).  Sure, there are times when I feel like reasoning with him is impossible, but then there are other times where it might just be the whole spanish as a first language thing getting in the way of our communication.  Either way, I love my papi so much and I wouldn’t change a thing.  If things were different, then our relationship would be different and this would be a whole other father-daughter set, so I’d rather not.  All in all I just want to wish my daddy a very happy birthday!

Love you Pa and Happy Birthday!!

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

