RIP Tio Edwin

Standard

It has always been impossible for me to listen to Frankie Ruiz without thinking of my Tio Edwin and today is no different.  Today, as I listen to this salsa, I can’t help but think of my uncle that left us just two days ago.  It has been a hard year for my family, but we’re Ramirez and we’ll make it through.  It’s times like these where you can only focus on the good to overcome the bad.  My Tio Edwin was always the salsero of the family, the one who never stopped being 25 years old, and the uncle who could put a smile on anyone’s face.  I feel blessed to have been able to know him and share some very happy memories with him.  It’s sad to know that I won’t see him anymore and that he left my family so soon, but the only comfort we have is that he is no longer suffering.  One day we’ll see him again and, for now, we have to accept that he will always be in our hearts.  If I know my Tio Edwin, then I know that he wouldn’t want us to cry, even though it’s hard not to.  He would much rather have us celebrate his life and remember him for the good moments that he brought into our lives.  I am grateful for that and in your honor Tio… que siga la fiesta.  I love you and I always will!

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

