Are We Recording?

Standard

As you may know, I absolutely love and admire Joseph Gordon-Levitt for the work that he puts out and just the way he is as a person, so, obviously, I had to go see him when his HitRECord On the Road Tour came to Washington D.C. this past week.  I must say that, at first, I didn’t know what to expect.  I was familiar with HitRECord and what they do, but I wasn’t sure how everything was going to translate to a live show, but let me just say that it was incredible.  I entered the Warner Theatre filled with anticipation and excitement and, not only did I leave as a bigger fan of JGL and even happier, but I also walked out of their feeling more inspired as a writer and a creative mind.

For those of you who don’t know, HitRECord is a production company that thrives off of collaborations of any and all types.  Musicians, writers, illustrators, dancers, voice actors, directors, and creative minds of all genres can come together in the HitRECord community to collaborate on projects and share them with each other.  It started off as a small, do it for fun kind of company, but then it grew into a professional organization.  Now, HitRECorders can actually get paid for their contributions and, with the help of new sponsors Levi’s and Sony, more videos, more projects, and more shows are in the works.  It really is a great place for creators to grow and learn.  I’ve been tempted myself to contribute my writing, but, for whatever reason, I haven’t done so yet, but, after seeing JGL live and seeing first hand what HitRECord is all about, I think I’ll finally submit some of my work.  I just have to find the right words and the right story for it to come together perfectly.

At the beginning of the show, JGL told us about how the idea for HitRECord came about.  I already knew this story, but it never hurts to hear it again.  He explained that he was a child actor, but decided to quit acting when he was in his late teen years.  A few years later, he wanted to act again, but nobody wanted to hire him.  He was out of work and felt helpless, but then he started to think.  He told himself that he shouldn’t have to rely on other people in order to do what he loved.  If he wanted to act and create films, then he should do that on his own.  Thus, HitRECord was born and they began to create countless short films and other collaborations.  On top of that, his acting career got a second jumpstart and now JGL is enjoying both his HitRECord community and his work as a Hollywood actor.

Honestly, I expected to have a good time, but I really didn’t have any idea of how inspired I would be.  Some of the things that JGL talked about, like HitRECord’s history, really resonated with me and it revived my creative motivation.  (I guess you could say that between this event and having seen Junot Diaz last week, I’m on an inspirational roll!)  But, in all seriousness, there comes a point in life where you have to decide what you want to do with yourself.  You may be scared to make that commitment, but it’s something that needs to get done.  The truth is that you’ll never know what can come about from your passion untill you truly dedicate yourself to it and take that risk.  JGL may have given me that extra push to finally submit my writing to HitRECord.  He may have just given me a few new ideas for my writing.  Or maybe he just reminded me why I love creativity so much and that it’s ok to want to live a creative life.  Without knowing it, JGL encouraged me as a creative mind, as a writer, and as a person.

One of the things that JGL is known for is his question “Are we recording?”  He encourages people to take pictures and videos of the everyday happenings of their life, of the special moments they want to remember, and of the ideas they may have.  Some people live life so fast that they don’t even recall their years in high school or that one family vacation.  I think everyday is an opportunity to create something new and to be inspired.  I may not always have a camera on me (which I’ll probably start doing now), but I always let the moments sink in.  I can’t tell you how many of my poems, stories, and just general concepts have come from me just enjoying and paying attention to the moment.  I like to think that that’s my way of recording!  Even if you don’t literally record everything or if you don’t know where you want to go in life, remember that there is always an opportunity to learn and grow as a person, so be open to “recording” everything that happens to you.  You’ll never know where you can find inspiration, so you have to always be ready to capture it.  Like I said, I had no idea that the HitRECord show would inspire me like it did, but what matters is that I was able to realize it, record it, and embrace it.

Leave a Reply

