Life is Meant to Be Lived

Standard

Your life is your life. Nobody else can tell you how to live it because, at the end of the day, it doesn’t belong to anybody else, but you.  It is up to you to make something great out of your life.  Something that makes you happy and something that you can look back on with pride.  It is up to you to choose how positive your life will be and how much success will fill it.  Yes, things may happen that go against what you want, but, in those moments, you have to find enough reason to continue moving toward your goal.  Sometimes what you get is better than what you want and only you can choose to see that.  It all depends on how you choose to live the life you have.

If you choose to stray away from hard work, dedication, motivation, and drive, then what makes you think that your life will be productive and full of progress?  How can a life without any movement go anywhere worthwhile?  If you choose to fill your life with individuals who are lost, negative, and exhausting, then how can they help you?  How can surrounding yourself with people like that enliven you in any way?  If you choose to look at life with a bleak, uninspired, pessimistic perspective, then how can you even find its beauty?  You can’t expect to find the light in life, if you only look at its dark corners.  Some circumstances are out of our control; however, you can choose how you react to those circumstances, you can choose who affects you and how they do so, and you can certainly choose what you do.

Like I said, your life is your life.  It is meant to be full of happiness, love, and fun, so why let it be anything less than that?  Fill your life with things that you love and that make you happy.  Create a life for yourself that will only bring you positive vibes and good memories.  If you have to do something that isn’t so fun from time to time that will lead to a better place for yourself, then do it until you reach a point where you get to do what you love, while learning whatever you can in the process.  Enjoy life with those who make you happy and forget those who don’t let you enjoy it.  Others can try to bring your life down, but they’ll only succeed if you let them, so don’t let them.  Cut them out of your life as quickly as they wanted to damage yours.  But, most importantly, you have to find the passion that will give you life.  There is that special something that will make you want to wake up and move forward every day.  Once you find that passion, there will be no stopping you.

I know who and what makes me happy, so those are the people and things I will choose to keep in my life.  I know what keeps me going every day and I know where I want to go.  I’ve figured out what kind of life I want to live.  Of course, I don’t have it all figured out, but I know that I want a positive life filled with peace, love, happiness, and success.  I want a life that I can look back on and feel like I did everything in my power to make it as beautiful and fulfilling as possible.  It’s my life and I choose to make the most out of it.  I hope you all will do the same.

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

2 responses »

    • Thank you! I really appreciate your support and I’m glad you enjoy my writing. I couldn’t agree with you more about people understanding the importance of taking on a positive mindset and taking the initiative to do something great. It can really change your life if you realize how much of a difference you can make. Thanks again for reading and I hope you keep on coming back!

Leave a Reply

