A Little Bestie Appreciation

Standard

Not everybody can say that they have real friends.  Not everyone will find a real friend throughout their entire lifetime, but I feel fortunate enough to be able to say that I have a group of real friends.  It may not be the biggest group in history, but I know that they are my ride or dies.  I can come to them for anything and I’ll always find their support.  I’ve met plenty of people in my life and none have been able to stick around as long as my friends have.  Most of my best friends have been in my life since middle school, they’ve stuck it out through high school, and now not even out-of-state moves and college can break the bond I have with them.  I am honestly so grateful for my friends and I don’t think I express that as often as I should.

They have been there during some of the most important moments of my life, they know things that nobody else knows, and they understand me in ways that other people couldn’t imagine.  When people question the group of friends I have, I don’t feel the need to explain my friendships in the slightest bit because, if you don’t get it by now, then you never will.  Me and my friends know what we’ve been through together and we know the love we have for each other, which is all that matters to me.  I love my friends and, just like I can count on them, I will always be here for them.  I can’t tell you how many great memories we’ve shared throughout the years and, with every hang out, the list just keeps growing.  I’m so grateful that I have a group of people who I can laugh with, cry with, get mad with, and be stupid with.

To my besties, I love you all and I don’t even have to say names because you know exactly who you are!

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

One response »

Leave a Reply

