Congratulations to the New Voice!

Standard

Cassadee Pope was definitely one of my favorites since her blind audition on The Voice.  I remember recognizing her from the band Hey Monday, which I actually listened to for some time, and, after hearing her again, I instantly became a loyal supporter of hers.  After Brian Keith’s departure from the competition, I wholeheartedly believed that Cassadee should win the whole thing and now here I am writing a post about her big win.  At first, her pop rock appeal was obvious and there was no doubt that Cassadee could kill any song in that genre, but, as the weeks passed, the diversity in her voice was front and center with the help of some touching country songs.  In my opinion, her voice, stage presence, and connection to the lyrics only got stronger throughout the competition.  She was on point every week vocally and was able to evoke emotions that not many of her Season 3 competitors were able to pull off.  I would have been highly upset if the win didn’t go to Cassadee Pope, so, needless to say, I’m very happy for her.  Now, I’m just excited to see where her career will go from here.

If you haven’t seen Cassadee perform, then I suggest you watch her first performance of “Over You.”  I have no shame in saying that I cried when I first saw this and I applaud Cassadee for delivering a beautiful rendition of the song, while holding back many tears.

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

