Welcome Winter!

Standard

Welcome Winter!

As you may know from a recent post of mine, I haven’t always been the biggest fan of winter, but I will say that I have developed a certain appreciation for the crisp season.  In the past, despite my dreading of winter, the freezing cold temperatures and the merciless winds would still come, but, no matter how uncomfortable winter seemed in the past, I was always alright and the holidays were always a good experience, so I really didn’t have much to complain about.  Now, I may still hate the cold, but I can look at winter with a new light.  The holidays that only happen in winter are some of my favorites and they are perfect opportunities to spend time with my beloved family and friends, you can’t beat the shopping and some of the fashion trends that the colder months bring us, and I’m on a much-needed break from school.  Sure, the days seem shorter and driving on icy roads is no fun, but only during winter can you curl up under a blanket with some hot chocolate to watch a movie.  Only during winter can you drive around your neighborhood and see the enchanting homes that are decorated like gingerbread houses and winter wonderlands.  Only during winter can you close one chapter of your life and bring in the new year.  Winter may have its downfalls, but no season is perfect, so it’s about time I start showing winter some love.  Today’s the first day of winter and I’m looking forward to the many beautiful moments it will bring me this time around!

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

One response »

Leave a Reply

