Welcome the 2013 Resolutions

Standard

2013 is here and now it’s time for the inevitable New Year’s resolutions.  You set a goal for yourself and try to stick to it all year round.  Last year, my resolution was to be the best me I could be.  I was including a more positive mindset, my health, my social life, and my professional goals.  I wanted to progress and grow as much as possible.  Honestly, I think I did a pretty good job at sticking to my goal… and my best friend agrees!  I’ve tried to maintain optimism and forward movement in my life, which has definitely helped me improve as a person, but now it’s time to make a new goal for myself.

Obviously, I have the specific goals of graduating college and all that good stuff, but, more importantly, I want to do a better job of making myself a priority in my life.  I can’t be at my best, if I don’t take care of myself, so I have to make an effort to do so.  This past year, I have certainly given a lot of myself to others to the point that I end up getting burnt out.  It’s nice to help people and you have to make sacrifices in life, but it should never get to the point where you’re not ever benefiting from the situation, so, this year, I’m going to take care of myself and I mean that in every sense.  Let’s make it a good one 2013!

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

