Happy Birthday Peanut!

Standard

Two years ago today, my little Peanut, a.k.a. Little Mikie was born.  Although it took me a year and a half to meet this little tike, I loved him the whole entire time.  Thanks to my second mommy, a.k.a my aunt, my family and I were able to see Mikie grow every day.  We saw him pick pumpkins, eat cereal for the first time, and watch his very first movie.  Before I even met him and before he had any idea who I was, I felt like I was involved in everything about Peanut’s life and, finally, this past summer I got to see Mikie for the first time.  At first, he was shy and distant towards me, which is natural, but, by the end of his trip to the DMV, I was one of the few people he would turn to for help, let hold him, and would play with.  We were able to share so many great moments together and, even though he won’t remember them when he gets older, I know he’ll see the pictures of his time here and will feel the love.  I’m just so grateful for the time I had with him and I am looking forward to the next time I see him.  I know he is going to have an awesome second birthday with his family in Texas, so, even though I’m far away, I want to send my little Peanut lots of love and I want to wish him a very happy birthday!

Happy Birthday Peanut!

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

