Well Done Golden Globe Girls!

Standard

After a fairly disappointing red carpet at the 2013 People’s Choice Awards, I was pleasantly surprised to see all of the well-styled celebs at the 2013 Golden Globes.  After what I saw this past week from the PCAs, the Golden Globes remain the kick off to award season in my eyes and, if the rest of the season is anything like last night’s event, then I can’t wait to see what else is to come.  The show itself was better than most award shows, but with Tina Fey and Amy Poehler hosting that isn’t too hard to do.  However, I was particularly pleased with the overall fashion at this year’s Golden Globes.  Although the men looked dashing, the women stole the spotlight as the boys didn’t step too far out of the traditional black and white get up.  The leading females filled the carpet with leg baring slits, bold necklines, and a pretty good variety of colors.  Nonetheless, so many of the Golden Globe attendees looked so nice that this red carpet definitely earned itself a post.

Kate HudsonMy overall favorite of the night has to be Kate Hudson.  She looked stunning in her black and gold gown that complimented her blonde locks and smokey eyes perfectly.  There is definitely some cleavage action going on, but it is balanced out with the long sleeves and the neck detail.  Plus, there’s no slit in sight, telling us all that Kate Hudson knows that you don’t have to show everything to be sexy.  Her dress hugged her body in all the right places and she showed just enough to maintain her youthful sex appeal, but Kate still managed to evoke a sense of class and elegance that I can’t help but appreciate.  The gold details around her waist and neck finish off the look with perfection.  Big kudos to Kate Hudson, but she wasn’t the only one who killed it in black.

Little Ms. Sarah Hyland gave her co-star Sofia Vergara, who also looked great in black, a run for her money by showing off her own curves.  Sarah opted for a strapless black gown with a bit more structure and peplum details.  I applaud the choices made to keep Sarah from being lost in a more dramatic dress than she’s used to wearing and I think the dress highlights her best features flawlessly.  However, I would’ve liked to have seen her with a lighter lip color.  The dark eye make-up, dark lips, and dark dress all together seems a bit too much for me.  Sarah’s still young and a more youthful color on her lips would’ve taken her whole look to the next level.  Regardless, she still made my best dressed.

On a lighter note, there were plenty of celebs that looked their best in lighter, bolder colors.  I was certainly a fan of Jennifer Lawrence’s look of the night.  The coral gown matched with the skinny black belt, not only catches everyone’s eyes, but it also helps everyone focus on how great Jennifer’s curves really look.  In that dress, she definitely looks like what a nominee should look like, retaining elegance and maturity that’s rare these days, but that form-fitting top part of her gown certainly reminds people of Jennifer’s sex appeal.  I also liked Emily Blunt’s green cut out dress that made her look like some kind of award show Barbie.  Her dress was simple and classic, but I loved the cut out sides that bring her look back into the twenty-first century.  She looked fashionable and edgy, while still being a lady.

Speaking of ladies, I have to talk about the more mature attendees who still managed to rock the red carpet.  I think there’s a common misconception that older women don’t have style and they’re naturally obligated to dress in frumpy, outdated clothes.  However, I would like to express my appreciation for women like Dame Helen Mirren and Glenn Close who shut that belief down.  Neither of these women are in their twenties or anything of that sort, but they definitely have enough fashion sense to keep up with the latest trends.  Both of these actresses held their own on the carpet with age appropriate, yet fashionable gowns.  I was particularly a big fan of Glenn Close’s navy blue mermaid style gown that highlighted everything good about her body.

Overall, the Golden Globe red carpet was overstuffed with good looks.  Judging by my favorites, the key to this red carpet was to balance out modernity, edge, and youthfulness with classic elegance.  I think a lot of the A-listers hit the mark and I was pleased with what I saw.  Helena Bonham Carter and Tim Burton were probably the only pair who stepped out of this formula and still gained my support, but that’s mainly because they’re a unique couple who will always stick to their own style.  Although, in the past, the two have gone way too alternative, I think they did pretty well this time around.  Then again, my deep appreciation for their work might be creating some bias in my opinion, so who knows with these two.  Unfortunately, I can’t talk about all of the dresses I liked, but I think I hit the most important points and I’ve included pictures of some of my favorites.  Hope you enjoy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

