For Real

Standard

.

I can never right my wrongs

unless I write them down for real.

I can never forgive all of your wrongs

unless I point them out for real.

I have to see everything I’m feeling

just to understand it all for real.

You really think I’m exaggerating,

but I’m really just trying to be for real.

I let the paper outline what I want,

so I can go after it for real.

I always leave a blank page,

so I always keep working at it for real.

I let you each see it all,

so don’t say it’s not for real,

but I show myself the truth,

so it will always be for real.

.

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

2 responses »

  1. It is hard to understand the meaning of “real” in this poem but it is beautiful. I appreciate how simply and directly one has put one’s thoughts in it. Thank you so much for sharing. Love and blessings.

Leave a Reply

