The SAG Carpet Queens!

Standard

Last night, the most relevant actors in Hollywood came together to honor each other for all of their hard work in 2012, but, before the judgments on performances were being announced, the celebrities had to walk the red carpet to get tested on their fashion sense.  For the most part, the A-listers did pretty well with their dress choices.  There were very few looks that I absolutely hated and I was pleased to see that I mostly liked the dresses I saw; however, just like in any occasion, I did have a few favorites that I wanted to highlight.

Naya RIveraOne thing I noticed was that black was the color choice for a lot of the actresses walking the red carpet and I must say that quite a few of them got it right.  Naya Rivera was probably my favorite in black, showing off her curves in a mermaid cut with a sheer plunge.  She’s young and latina, so why not show some sex appeal?  But Naya kept it classy with a train, a bit of peplum detailing, and some pleating up top on her gown.  Her loose locks and simple make-up completed her look of the night and I loved it.  Morena Baccarin also made me proud in black.  The front slit and the sheer skirt (a big trend this season) give her some sex appeal, too, but she balanced it all out with a very simple bodice.  I must say that I really appreciated the green design along the bottom of her gown.  To me, without this detailing, the dress could’ve easily have been lost in the sea of celebrities.  Kelly Osbourne and Elisabeth Moss were two other SAG attendees that I thought nailed the black dress trend of the night.  Kelly kept it interesting with a very art deco inspired gown, while Elisabeth refreshed our palates with a shorter hem.  Kudos to them both!

But not everything was so dark on the red carpet.  I saw plenty of great looks that brought a lighter feel to it all.  For one, I really liked Naomi Watts’ dress.  The strapless gown had a very simply cut with few unnecessary accessories, while the fabric was what really stole the show.  The lace pattern all throughout the dress gave Naomi a timeless look of flawless fashion that made her one of the best dressed celebs of the night.  On the other hand, Katrina Bowden went with a more detailed dress that played to some more modern trends, but it still worked for her.  I thought that the tulle bottom paired with the geometric bodice made for a beautiful choice.  She looked elegant, but still youthful.  Ellie Kemper was another one who passed her fashion test in a sea-foam green number.  Her dress appeared to be much more traditional than some of the other gowns on the carpet with some floral accents and a big bow on her hip, but I did appreciate the sheer straps that made for an interesting illusion along her neckline.  Her dress definitely suited her sweet personality.

Last, but not least, are the more colorful women of the night who aced their looks.  I have to start with Sarah Hyland, who I think has never made a bad choice when it comes to fashion.  She always seems to know what looks good on her body and I must admit I was excited to see what she would wear this time around.  As usual, she looked beautiful, but this time she opted for a purple strapless gown.  The silhouette isn’t too different from what she usually wears and sticks to the elegance I expect from her, but the bold pop of purple reminds us all that Sarah is still young and allowed to have fun.  If she’s on a fashion roll already, I can’t wait to see how her style matures as she gets older.  Amanda Seyfried also did a good job in rocking some color on the red carpet.  She kept it pretty simple with no patterns, but just a navy blue gown.  The drama comes from the layered, mermaid hem paired with her blonde waves.  The necklace plunging down to her waist finished off the whole look and she looked great.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

