Safe Haven

Standard

.
Thank you for creating a safe haven
Where I am who you want me to be.
My pain is healed by listening to yours.
My sentences end with your thoughts.
Our spare time always coincides with each other.
Our conversations happen only when you’re ready.
It all keeps you comfortable.
It all keeps you happy.
And I’m ok with that,
Right?
At least I’m supposed to be,
Because anything different
would change the so-called balance.
That would mean I could be myself, too.
That I could be supported from time to time,
But that just wouldn’t make sense,
Right?
So I’ll be thankful for all that you’ve done.
I’ll appreciate the safe haven I maintain for you
And I’ll stick with the fort you’ve encouraged me to build.
Yup,
The one that only I can get into.
The one that gives me the patience
For your own safe haven.
So thank you again
For allowing me to be exactly who you imagined.
.

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

2 responses »

    • Thank you very much! It’s nice to be able to say what’s on your mind and have others not only understand you, but appreciate what you have to say as well.

Leave a Reply

