Patterns Please!

Standard

Patterned LeggingsWith the season change from winter to spring, I’ve made it a point to update my wardrobe a little bit by making a few new additions to my fashion family and, although I have an appreciation for each of my new pieces, among my favorites are patterned leggings.  I’ll admit that I was apprehensive about this investment at first.  I wasn’t sure how they would look and if they were worth it or not.  I spent a good deal of time browsing in stores and comparing styles online, trying to decide whether or not I was a patterned leggings type of girl.  But, alas, I took the plunge and ordered myself a couple of pairs of patterned leggings.  I must say it feels good to own them and I have no regrets about my purchases either.

I first tried out my new leggings on a recent road trip to South Carolina and they surely did not disappoint.  I found that the patterned leggings are a fast and simple way to make your outfit really pop.  If you’re feeling funky, throw on some patterned leggings with an oversize sweater and you’re good to go.  They can easily add color, flare, and intricacy to your look of the day.  I chose to wear my leggings with an oversized tank (yes, I was definitely taking advantage of the warm weather), while my other patterned leggings were married to a white boyfriend style button down and a belt on the way back home.  Both got a lot of love, showing the versatility of the bold leggings.  Plus, they’re comfortable.  Always trust that if looks won’t buy a girl, then comfort will.  Patterned leggings are just as easy as regular leggings, hugging your every curve, but not to the point where all you want to do is rip them off and slip into some sweatpants.  I wore them on a seven hour drive and had no complaints.  Plus, leggings are perfect for the spring weather that isn’t too hot or too cold.  I definitely suggest for every chick to have at least one pair of patterned leggings in their closet.  If you’re a little intimidated by the bold touch of them, I recommend making your first pair a black and white one to help you ease into it all.  If you’re more daring, then jump right into the colorful ones, but just don’t get too crazy!

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

One response »

Leave a Reply

