Happy (Belated) National Sibling Day!

Standard

Yesterday was National Sibling Day and, although I missed it by a day, I still wanted to post a little something in honor of my own siblings.  Growing up with an older sister and an older brother, I surely have experienced all the ins and outs of not being an only child.  Thanks to my brother and sister I’ve been picked on, labeled as annoying, and outsmarted.  I hated being the youngest and I hated always being one step behind them two.  However, I also benefitted first hand from their teachings, protection, and love.  There is really nothing like having a brother and sister who can make fun of you and defend you like their cub all in one day.  I’ve had plenty of fights and arguments with my brother and sister, but I’ve had even more laughs and priceless memories.  People hate being around me and my brother because we go off on tangents that only we understand.  Me and my sister barely have to speak to understand each other, leaving everyone around us lost in the conversation.  The three of us can simply eat dinner together and watch TV to have a good time and that’s what I love about my family.  We might be getting older with jobs and starting our adult lives, but, in actuality, we’re all still the Vany, Junior, and Tana who used to “ice skate” in the house, watch Legends of the Hidden Temple, and pull all-nighters together for no reason.  I love my siblings and I wouldn’t trade them for anything.  Happy National Sibling Day!

National Sibling Day

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

