Seasons

Standard

.

My happiness begins to fall

as the flames consume the trees,

eventually,

covering the earth.

Just like everything else that was green

the once colorful leaves

lie on the ground

motionless, brown, and dead.

The critters and creatures

all move into hiding,

avoiding the cold air

these next few months will birth.

The sun goes away,

the clouds come out to play,

the wind is here to stay,

and this is all that lies ahead.

.

This is no winter wonderland.

For all I see are gray landscapes,

making it impossible to wake

and want to take on the days.

All the frigid dreariness

makes me feel like I’m in a maze,

like I’m going insane.

At least that would make sense.

Perhaps, I want to be caught in a craze.

No.

I just want to go into hibernation.

Skip over this feeling of stagnation,

in the hopes that the warmth will be my salvation.

But I know I must endure.

I have to wait for what is pure.

The rain will come and wash it all away.

It’ll give me that clean slate,

taking away everything I hate.

And that’s when I’ll find my cure.

I know it.  I’m sure.

.

My black and white silent film of a life

will be painted with a rainbow

after all of my strife.

Dandelions, daisies, roses, and tulips

will all rise again,

standing tall next to the rich, green grass.

The critters and creatures

will wake up and resurface.

Birds will dominate the skies

and the butterflies

will flutter and be seen in mass.

The life of spring makes my heart beat.

The dew tastes so sweet.

I know I’ve conquered the feat

and I know I’m in for a treat

because I can already feel the heat.

.

My summer is here.

What I’ve longed for is now so near.

I have nothing else to fear

and I can only rejoice in my cheer.

Laughter and joy is all that I hear.

The freedom I wanted

is now so mine and dear.

I’ll enjoy it while it lasts

because it will soon all be a dreamlike haze.

I can feel the hot sun rays,

but, in due time,

they will make the red flames blaze

and the earth’s surface is sure to sear.

.

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

