A Victim’s Plea

Standard

.

Please don’t blame him.

Don’t take it out on him.

It wasn’t his fault.

I shouldn’t have said what I said.

I shouldn’t have done what I did.

I deserved it.

He didn’t mean to hurt me.

He would never want to hurt me.

.

Please don’t blame him.

I never told him to stop.

I never said it wasn’t right.

I probably provoked him.

I never asked for your help.

It’s best you don’t get involved.

.

Don’t talk about it.

Nothing happened.

It wasn’t his fault.

.

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

