The Lipstick is Where It’s At!

Standard

Red LipstickIt’s April and spring is in full swing.  Flowers are blooming, the sun is shining, and we all have to do something to match the colorful world around us.  What’s the answer?  Bright lips!  Yes, lipstick is one of many things that I’ve fallen in love with recently and I encourage all fashion forward women to invest in a few good colors.

I started with red.  It’s a staple hue and I think every girl should have some red lipstick ready to go.  I prefer a classic, pure red, but go ahead and experiment with different shades if you’re up for it.  I’m also a big fan of pink lipstick.  Now, I realize that pink isn’t for everyone, but, being that I love Barbie, I feel lucky enough to have the skin tone to rock a perfect Barbie pink.  You don’t get much girlier than pink lipstick and I certainly like to sport my shimmering pink lips from time to time.  However, I must say I recently have been a bit of an “Indie Flick” enthusiast.  It’s a color my best friend gave to me and I can only describe it as a cross between red and orange, making it the perfect lipstick shade to set an outfit off.  Trust me when I say the hybrid shades are the unsung heroes of make-up.

When picking my lipstick, I must admit that I’m hesitant to wear these bright lips when my outfit is already so colorful, but if there’s a hint of red or coral in an outfit, believe that I will bring those subtle hues out with my lipstick.  Plus, I think adding a pop of color to your lips is necessary for a mostly neutral look, like outfits that are mostly black or grey.  Every girl needs an edgy surprise in their looks for the day and I think lips are what provide that much needed wow factor.

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

