The End of a Chapter

Standard

Today, I officially close one chapter of my life.  A chapter that has dominated my days since I was five.  Now, 15 years later I am graduating college.  I have gone through all of the ups and downs.  I’ve pulled the all-nighters, felt like exams were written in different languages, and woken up at a much earlier time than my body could ever get used to.  But I’ve also learned things I never thought of, felt proud of the work I turned in, and created bonds with kinds of people I could never dream of.  Being a student had its moments of being tedious and completely unpleasant, but, for the most part, it was a great experience.  I encourage everyone to make the most out of their days as a student, but, at the same time, I am ready for what’s next.  I’m graduating a year early today and I have no intentions of looking back.

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

