RIP Abuelo Papo

Standard

RIP Abuelo Papo

Just yesterday I received the news that my grandfather passed away.  He had been fighting in a battle with cancer and, after numerous surgeries, countless treatments, and many long years, his body gave in and it was too much for him to bear.  Considering this loss in my family, we at least have the consolation that he passed away in his own home with many of his loved ones around him.  Personally, although I wasn’t with him when he took his last breath, I got to see him when he came for my father’s college graduation just two weeks ago.  It had been three years since I had last seen him, so seeing him one last time counts for a lot.  I can only imagine what it meant for my dad and his parents to share that moment of graduation together, but I am thankful to have personally witnessed those memories.  Yes, my grandfather had been struggling in his fight for a long time, but it doesn’t make his passing any less difficult or shocking.  If anything, it seems like it came out of nowhere, but then again that may be a selfish kind of mindset.  Instead, I should be grateful for the moments I did share with my grandfather and for the moments that I will spend with my family in Puerto Rico within the next few days.  I am grateful that I got to hug him and tell him I loved him that one last time.  I am grateful that he is no longer suffering.

With that being said, I hope my grandfather finds nothing but peace and love all while knowing he will never be forgotten.

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

