Happy Father’s Day!

Standard

Within the past few years, I have been reminded that the place of a father in your life is not guaranteed.  There is no permanence to the amount of time spent with someone, even if it is someone as important as your father.  I know too many people who have lost their fathers or father figures too early, while I know just as many people who have never even had the opportunity to get to know their dads.  For that reason, Father’s day is even more important to me.  It reminds me of how blessed I am to have such a wonderful dad in my life.

My dad has made mistakes and there are times, just like with anybody, that I don’t understand him, but, at the end of the day, he’s my father and he will never let me forget it.  Ever since I can remember, my dad has been there for me and my family in ways that people will never understand.  But the best part is that he is still right by my side no matter what.  He supports me in whatever I want to do, he offers his intellectual advice when it’s needed, and he is there to try to make everything better when things go sour.  He’s been a shoulder to cry on, a personal chef, a doctor, and most definitely my papi.  Whenever I need something, he will be there no matter what and I love him for it.  I love him for everything he’s done for me and continues to do.

I will proudly say that I am a daddy’s girl and I have no shame in saying it.  I’m not saying I’m spoiled or prissy, but I’m saying that I have an endless amount of unconditional love for him and I know he has that same amount of love for me.  I just feel so lucky to have him as my father and, more importantly, that I still have him in my life today.  I wish my papi and all of the wonderful fathers a very Happy Father’s Day.  Enjoy your day dads!

 

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

