Forbidden Garden

Standard

.

I smile down upon my world.

I see all the seedlings from the past

have now grown into beautiful flowers of their own.

Tulips, roses, daisies, hydrangeas, and hibiscus

all lean in to me,

trying to get closer,

trying to be the closest.

My rays shine down upon them

as I try to get closer.

I try to help one of them be the closest.

But their temptations

are empty attempts.

For the closer we get,

the faster they burn.

The masochist garden keeps on reaching

as they keep on burning.

My heart weeps,

knowing that they’ll never be mine.

I weep and bring forth the rain,

trying to save my forbidden garden.

.

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

