Rock the High Waist!

Standard

High Waisted ShortsI have always been a fan of the high waist and June is no different.  Lately, I have been going on a high waisted whatever frenzy.  Leggings, skirts, pants, shorts.  You name the type of bottom and chances are I have at least one high waisted version of them.  I love wearing my high waisted pants with a flowy crop top, while I leave my skirts for a more professional kind of work day.  With the leggings, I prefer a bold pattern with a simple top, but for shorts I like to go with a neutral kind of bottom and match it with a more eye-catching top.

About a month ago I bought a pair of black shorts with a high waist and I absolutely love them.  Not only are they super comfortable, but they go with just about anything.  I can dress it up or dress it down, depending on my mood, which really lets me play with a lot of different looks.  Some people are wary of the high waisted look because of the fit, but I think as long as you get the right size, you should have no problem rocking this 2013 trend.  I prefer buttoned shorts over a zipper, but that’s just me.  You can really wear the heck out of this style any way you want, which is why I love it so much!

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

