Words Are Only Words

Standard

.

Sometimes I think

there are some things

I shouldn’t have said,

But, if I wouldn’t have heard

those words

maybe I wouldn’t have realized

how untrue they were.

Without their audible utterance,

they would have remained possibly

valid thoughts in my mind.

But the simple sounds of each syllable

revealed their empty deceptive core.

Sometimes I wonder

who was fooled

by the things I’ve said.

I want to know

if they ever carried any weight.

To me,

the thoughts were like a heavy downpour,

begging to be released

from the grasp of a dark gray cloud.

I had to let them flow,

but, as they rolled off my tongue,

their substance turned into vapor

and disappeared into the air.

Any meaning they once had

flew away with the wind

never to be seen again.

But at least it’s out of my system.

They’re not poisoning my mind.

They’re not weighing me down.

I know they were lies.

I know it’s not what I meant to say.

I know those words meant nothing.

.

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

