Happy Independence Day America!

Standard

Happy Independence Day!Today, the U.S. celebrates another year of its independence.  Today, Americans will celebrate their country, their freedom, and the fact that they have something to celebrate.  I’ll be spending this 4th of July with my crazy and hyper yet loving New Yorican family, so I’ll definitely be celebrating having them in my life.  I know plenty of people who don’t have the luxury of visiting their families because of the restrictions in their countries, so I feel lucky knowing that I don’t have to go through that.  With that being said, I’ll take today as a reminder to not only appreciate the liberties I do have, but also the freedom and opportunities that I’ll create for myself in the future.  I don’t think it’s okay to be completely complacent with the way things are, but it’s up to the individual to make changes in their life.  That’s how life changing decisions are made and revolutions are started.  That’s how you truly exercise your independence and reach your full potential.  So, this Independence Day, I’ll certainly be thinking of my own and celebrating how far I’ve come to date.  What will you be celebrating?

 

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

