Happy Birthday Mami Becky!!

Standard

Titi/Mami,

I honestly look at you and see an example of a real woman.  You are strong, yet so loving.  Titi, you have gone through so much in your life yet you have never given up.  You always find a way to hold your head up high and move forward with your life.  And with all of your tough skin look how far you’ve come!  You are succeeding with a beautiful family right by your side and it’s all because you believed in yourself.  I remember seeing how you never hesitated in making decisions to better your life.  You just did it and you were confident in everything that you did.  Even if you had your doubts, you never let that hold you back and admire you for that.  People may think that you’re cutthroat, but I think you’re just strong.  You are independent and you are one of my role models.

If anything, you are one of the most caring, thoughtful, and loving people I know.  And I am not exaggerating.  You are always there for people when they need someone, you are always there to congratulate someone or wish them happiness, and you are always there to just say “I love you.”  I will never forget the morning after my high school graduation.  You and Mike were visiting for the weekend just so you could be there for me and as I was lying on the couch sick as I don’t know what you were there always coming to check up on me.  That is something that can’t be taken for granted in a person and that’s why that June morning is one of many moments with you that I will always cherish.  I will cherish cooking and baking with you.  I will cherish watching movies with you.  I will even cherish drinking Nesquick with you.

I know you live half way across the country and I know we don’t see each other everyday, but I do know that the distance between us has nothing to do with our special bond.  Thanks to technology like Facebook, texting, and Facetime I can be with you and Peanut whenever.  So, today, I may not be with you in person, but you are definitely in my heart and I want to wish you a very happy birthday, my Titi, my second mommy!  I love you very much!

.

Love,

Tana

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

One response »

Leave a Reply

