2013 VMA MVPs

Standard

After a whole year of new music, videos, and performances leading up to one event, just like that the 2013 MTV Video Music Awards came and went.  Generally speaking, it went exactly how I expected it to.  Getting frustrated at the “bias” victories, waiting for those few good performances and appearances, looking out for the quirky fashion, and wanting to change the channel, but instead watching the show until the very end.  It wasn’t the best production MTV has given us, but there were some pretty good performances… JT, Macklemore and Ryan Lewis, Bruno Mars I’m looking at you guys.  And even Kanye West and Drake stood their ground in their own ways.  As is to be expected I didn’t agree with all of the winners, but you win some and you lose some I guess.  All I can say is at least Kevin Hart made a few appearances to fill in the gaps.  But enough of that and on to the fashion.

RihannaFor the most part, I was surprised to see how conservative this year’s attendees were.  Most of the famous faces were dressed safely and fell in line with a lot of the current trends.  I think a few people *cough* Becky G and Miley Cyrus*cough* tried a little bit too hard to stand out, but that’s how you learn I guess.  In addition to those two, I was honestly disappointed in my girls Rita Ora and Rihanna who showed up in some not so impressive attire.

Rita’s dress on the red carpet looked great on the runway and I can see why she gravitated towards it, but it just didn’t look right on her and, after last year’s to die for jumpsuit, I was expecting her to be on point.  The plus side is I’m loving her new bob and the red dress she changed into did her much more justice.

Rihanna, on the other hand, went in the complete opposite direction and just threw on some jeans and a tee.  I guess she knew she wasn’t going to win a moon man and decided to just be comfortable.  Tisk tisk Riri!Ciara

As for the outfits I did like, I don’t have a favorite, but I do have a few top looks.  Ciara looked beautiful in her sheer embellished gown.  I love the detailing throughout the dress, which gives her whole look a certain amount of class and elegance.  I also am a fan of the sheer fabric and feathered skirt because it gives the gown a touch of edge that you need at any and every MTV event.  I’m not sure how I feel about the casual hairstyle with that dress, but it doesn’t look bad either.

My girl Selena Gomez also made me proud with her look of the night.  Her floor-length navy dress seemed to formal when I first saw it, but then I caught sight of the black and sheer bodice underneath along with that not so shy slit going up her thigh and I had a quick change of heart.  I like the fact that Selena left a lot to the imagination, but still showed off some fresh sex appeal.  It’s clear that Sel is growing up, but I’m glad she’s not twerking on stage or having a public breakdown to tell us that.

Last, but not least, I have to give a little shout out to Danity Kane who announced last night that they are back together and ready to release more music.  Not only was I happy about their return, but I was also happy to see their black and white ensembles they were rocking on the carpet.  Aubrey’s shoulder pads were questionable, but I think Shannon’s whole look and Aundrea’s killer shoes saved the day.  I just couldn’t stay mad at DK for long.

Of course, I couldn’t talk about everyone who graced the red carpet with their presence, but I’ve included some pictures of other celebs who, in my opinion, did the right thing.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

